UUJ win Sigerson Cup

April 22nd, 2008

uuj-sigerson-2008.jpg2008 Sigerson Cup Final
UUJ 1-16 v 1-14 Garda College (AET)

UUJ erased painful memories of last years extra-time final defeat as they captured their fifth Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup crown following a hard-earned two-point win over Garda College after extra-time at IT Carlow on Tuesday evening.

Contesting their first final since 1999, Garda got off to a bright start with a brace of Mark Harrington points ensuring a 0-3 to 0-2 after seven minutes.

Harrington and Offaly’s Rory Guinan led the Garda College attack in the opening quarter while Westmeath’s Graham Dillon and Darren Mullahy of Galway were solid on the half-back line.

A livelier UUJ attack made the best use of possession in the second quarter, where Antrim senior Paddy Cunnigham ignited, and the full-forward kicked five first half points as UUJ took an 0-8 to 0-5 interval lead.

UUJ began the second half in determined fashion and thanks to a Cunningham goal they had a 1-9 to 0-6 lead by five minutes after the restart.

However, Garda responded immediately with John O’Brien dispatching a 14-metre free straight to the UUJ net.

A second Lynch point saw UUJ break three points clear with eight minutes remaining but scores from O’Brien, Harrington and substitute James Martin forced extra-time.

Cunningham and Lynch were again on fire in the opening stages of extra-time but industrious work from Guinan ensured the sides were level at 1-14 apiece at the break.

However UUJ were not to be denied as scores from Lynch and Cunningham steered them to victory.


UUJ: P Cunningham 1-9 (4f) M Lynch (3f) 0-6; A Moran (1 sl) 0-1.

Garda College: R Guinan (3f, 1 45) 0-6; J O’Brien (1-2f) 1-4; M Harrington (1f, 1 sl) 0-3; J Martin 0-1.

Garda College: P O’Connor; C McGill, C McGrath, A Pender; G Dillon, D Mullahy, E Callaghan; A O’Mahony, A O’Donovan; S Buckley, R Guinan, D Glennon; J O’Brien, M Harrington, J Keane.
Subs: B Brennan for Keane (HT); J Martin for O’Donovan (52).

UUJ: M McAlister; C Harrison, D McCaul, D Morgan; P McGuigan, K Lacey, P Donnelly; B McKenna, C Cavanagh; D Hughes, T McCann, R Mulgrew; M Lynch, P Cunningham, A Moran.
Subs: J McGovern for Hughes (HT); B Dunnion for Harrison (45); C Donnelly for Moran (74).

Referee: David Coldrick (Meath).