• Ulster Senior Championship QF - Down v Antrim

Antrim are Ulster Minor Hurling Champions for 5th year in a row

July 10th, 2017

Antrim 3-13 Derry 2-8 

Antrim lifted the Electric Ireland Ulster Minor Hurling Championship title for the fifth year in a row after defeating Derry in the decider.

Colly Murphy’s side survived a late Derry rally at Owenbeg to run out eight-point winners, with Ed McQuillan’s second goal of the game in the final minute confirming the Saffrons’ clear victory.

Holders Antrim had the majority of play and despite racking up ten wides in the opening 30 minutes, the Saffrons’ ability to find the back of the net twice saw them run in six points up at the break, leading by 2-4 to 0-4.

Early points from Derry’s Richie Mullan and Tiarnan McHugh sandwiched a couple from Antrim’s Sean Elliott and Conor Boyd to tie the score at 0-2 apiece after 11 minutes.

Tiarnan Murphy then pounced on a goalkeeping error to jab the ball to the back of the net and hand Antrim the lead in the fifth minute, a lead they never looked like relinquishing for the rest of the match.

The holders controlled the third quarter and led 2-10 to 0-5 with 18 minutes to go before Derry staged a late fightback with Mullan and Ruairi Rafferty both hitting goals.

But Antrim would not be denied, and when McQuillan rocketed home his second major of the contest the victory was confirmed.

Antrim – P McMullan; M Smith, S Walsh, P Lennon; F McCurry, C Boyd, R McGarry; M McGreevy, C McHugh; E McQuillan, C Scullion, D Smith; T Murphy, A McGrath, S Elliott. Subs: R Molly for C Scullion (49), S Magill for F McCurry (52), C McBride for A McGrath (55), M McCavanagh for P Lennon (59), D Magee-Baker for M Smith (59)

Scorers – Antrim: T Murphy 1-5 (0-2fs), E McQuillan 2-1, D Smith 0-3, S Elliott 0-2 (1f), C McHugh, C Boyd 0-1 each.

Derry – S Kelly; C McAlinden, T Walsh, R Rafferty; M McEldowney, R Mullan, F Cassidy; M Quinn, T Rankin; F Bradley, E O’Kane, P McLaughlin; D Quinn, T McHugh, R McSorley

Scorers – Derry: R Mullan 1-3 (0-3fs), R Rafferty 1-0, T McHugh 0-2, T Rankin, P McLaughlin, D Quinn 0-1 each.

Ref – C Murray (Down)

Report: Independent.ie