Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Antrim win U21 Title

July 30th, 2009

antrim-u21-hurling-final-2009.jpgBord Gáis Energy Ulster U21 Hurling Final:
Antrim 1-18  Derry 0-09

Though far from impressive Antrim had too much hurling for Derry as they clinched the Ulster Under 21 title with a 1-18 to 0-9 win over the Oak Leaf boys at Casement Park.

Leading by just a point at the end of the opening quarter Antrim took a firm grip on the game when corner-forward CJ McGourty fired home the only goal of the game.

After that the Saffrons were well on top and went to lead by 1-8 to 0-3 at half time.
The second-half saw a similar pattern as Antrim picked off the points a couple in particular from Darren Hamill which really caught the eye.

Derry did manage to add six more points to their total, but Antrim were always in control, though they will know that their performance would fall well short of what will be needed in their semi-final clash with Kilkenny.

Scorers — Antrim: CJ McGourty 1-6 (5f); R Donnelly 0-3; PJ O’Connell, E McCloskey, N McManus 0-2 each; P Doherty, D Hamill, P McNaughton 0-1 each. Derry: S Dodds 0-5f; A Kelly 0-2; C McElhinny, Cormac McKenna 0-1 each.

Antrim — C O’Connell; C McKinley, C Donnelly, K McKeague; C Carson, A Graffin, C McKinley; PJ O’Connell, T McCann; P McNaughton, E McCloskey, N McManus; D Hamill, P Doherty, CJ McGourty. Subs: R Donnelly for C Carson, M Armstrong for N McManus, K Molloy for K McKeague

Derry — D McDermott; D McCloskey, Conor McKenna, L Craig; S Cassidy, S McNicholl, C Murphy; O McCloskey, N Holly; G O’Neill, Cormac McKenna, S Dodds; P Cleary, S McCloskey, A Kelly. Subs: C McElhinny for G O’Neill, M Bradley for Cormac McKenna, J Darragh for S McCloskey, S Logue for P Cleary.

Ref — G Devlin (Armagh)


Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA