Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Féile Uladh Iománaíocht agus Camógaíocht 2011

June 3rd, 2011

After undergoing a successful re-vamp in 2010, Féile Uladh 2011 took place on Saturday 30th April in venues throughout Ulster.

Feile Uladh has been a regular feature on the Ulster Hurling Calendar since the late 90’s when the competition was organised as a prelude to Ulster hosting the National Féile competition.  However after much debate the competition was modernised last year and is now held over two weekends, with group stages being played to decide the finalists.  The finals are then played off two weeks later, on a single afternoon, with the Division Six Final commencing at 12.00noon and successive finals being played right up to the Division One Final, which is scheduled to commence at 5.00pm.

After a number of late withdrawals there was a total of 53 hurling teams participating in group stages that were played at 11 different venues.  Ulster Camogie also organised their Féile competition on the same day with a total of 35 teams participating.  Ulster GAA is indebted to those clubs that give up their facilities to host the group stages of Féile Uladh.  We are also grateful to the referees, without whom we could not run the competition, and those members of the Ulster Hurling Development Committee and the Ulster Hurling Development Staff who organised the event and co-ordinated the fixtures programme at each venue.

The hurling finals were played at the St Colm’s club in Ballinascreen, Co. Derry on Saturday 14th May, results are provided below and photos are available on the Ulster website –

Féile Hurling Finals

Div 5 Final Laitroim Fontenoy’s 4-02 v 1-05 Carryduff
Div 4 Final Newry Shamrocks 3-04 v 1-05 Oisín Glenariffe
Div 3 Final Bun Cranncha 3-09 v 0-00 Portaferry
Div 2 Final Kevin Lynch’s 4-12 v 3-01 Ruairi Óg Cushendall
Div 1 Final Slaughtneil 2-10 v 0-01 Loughgiel Shamrocks

Camogie finals were also held on 14th May at Eglish GAC, Co. Tyrone.

Féile Camogie Finals

Div 1 Ballinascreen 3-04 v 7-02 Loughgiel Shamrocks
Div 2 Ruairi Óg 5-05 v 5-03 Lavey
Div 3 Ballygalget 3-01 v 3-04 Newbridge
Div 4 A Riocht 0-00 v 8-07 Bellaghy
Div 5 Banagher 0-01 v 1-02 Dungiven
Div 6 Crosserlough 8-00 v 2-00 Eoghan Rua

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA