Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Tyrone win Ulster Minor League title

April 24th, 2017


Ulster Minor League Final

Tyrone 1-09 Derry 0-09

TYRONE won the last ever Ulster Minor League title, after defeating Derry in the second-half of Saturday’s Final in Glen.

With Richie Mullan and Mark McGrogan each registering two points, Derry led 0-7 to 1-2 at half-time.  Tyrone’s goal came after a surging run by Peter Óg McCartan.

When PT Cunningham landed an inspirational score after the break, Tyrone gradually took control, with Darragh Canavan and Oran Mallon hitting late points to seal the win.

Derry only registered two points in the second-half and lost Lorcan Spier to a second booking with five minutes to go.  Tyrone held on for a morale-boosting win going into the championship meeting between the teams next month.

Tyrone: Lorcan Quinn, Rian McLernon, Antoin Fox, Peadar Mullan, Conall Grimes, Cahir Goodwin (0-1), Damien McGuigan, Oran Mallon (0-2), Peter Óg McCartan (1-0), Matthew McGuigan (0-1f), James Morgan (0-2), Daniel Millar, Jude Campbell, PT Cunningham (0-2), Darragh Canavan (0-1).

Subs: Ruairi Gormley for J Morgan (HT), Cathair Gallagher for D Canavan (57).

Derry: Orán Hartin, Conleth McShane, Oran McGill, Sean McKeever, Simon McErlain, Padraig McGrogan, Odhran Quinn (0-1), Declan Cassidy, Dara Rafferty, Fergal Mortimer (0-1), Richie Mullan (0-2), JP Devlin, Paddy Quigg, Mark McGrogan (0-2f), Ben McCarron (0-1f).

Subs: Cormac Murphy for P Quigg (HT), Alex Doherty for Richie Mullan (HT), Lorcan Spier for JP Devlin (HT), Conor McCluskey (0-1) for F Mortimer (BC 35), Damon Gallagher (0-1f) for M McGrogan (47).



Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA