Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling League Final

September 10th, 2017

Congratulations to all the participants in the final round of the GAA M. Donnelly Interprovincial Wheelchair Hurling League which took place in Dungiven Sports Centre yesterday, Saturday 9th September.

A large crowd witnessed three keenly contested hurling games between Ulster, Connacht and the 2017 League winners, Leinster.

The event was attended by the Games for All Committee Chairman Brian Armitage and Secretary Tony Watene, as well as Connacht member Denis O’Boyle. The games were refereed by Chris Brown from Galway.

Ulster GAA would like to extend a sincere thanks to the local Kevin Lynch’s club for the guard of honour for the visiting teams and also for their help on the day.

Thanks also to all at the Dungiven Sports Centre for hosting the event and everyone else involved particularly the participating players, their families and the two coaches from Ulster GAA Coaching – Paul Callaghan and Shane McCann – who work with the Wheelchair Hurlers.

After a great morning of games, the Cup was presented to the 2017 League winners Leinster by Michael Geoghegan, Ulster GAA PRO.

Wheelchair Hurling continues to grow in popularity and the standards of skill and sportsmanship on display this weekend are testament to the great work of all involved.

Maith sibh!

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA