Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Ulster Hurlers Honoured In Champion 15s

November 4th, 2017

A strong year for Ulster teams in the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard and Lory Meagher competitions was acknowledged in the Champion 15s Awards presented at the PwC GAA/GPA Allstars banquet in Dublin.

In the Christy Ring selection Antrim had three players honoured and Down had two representatives.

Ulster teams dominated the Nicky Rackard selection with 13 of the 15 spots. Champions Derry collected five awards, beaten finalists Armagh took three, Monaghan & Tyrone both claimed two and Donegal one.

Oak Leaf player Gerald Bradley was also named Nicky Rackard Player of the Year.

In the Lory Meagher selection, near neighbours Fermanagh & Cavan took home two awards each.

The full list of Ulster award winners on the night were:

Christy Ring Champion 15

  • Chrissy O’Connell – Antrim
  • John Dillon – Antrim
  • Paddy Burke -Antrim
  • Eoghan Sands – Down
  • Michael Hughes – Down

Nicky Rackard Champion 15

  • David Flynn – Donegal
  • Brendan Begley – Tyrone
  • Stephen Donnelly – Tyrone
  • Mark Treanor – Monaghan
  • Donal Megan – Monaghan
  • Artie McGuinness – Armagh
  • Nathan Curry – Armagh
  • John Corvan – Armagh
  • Brendan Rogers – Derry
  • Darragh McCloskey – Derry
  • Paul Cleary – Derry
  • Sean Cassidy – Derry
  • Gerald Bradley – Derry

Lory Meagher Champion 15

  • Damian Sheridan – Cavan
  • Matthew Hynes – Cavan
  • Sean Corrigan -Fermanagh
  • Shea Curran – Fermanagh


Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA