• Bauer media

Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Danske Bank MacRory Cup presented to St Patrick’s Maghera and St Colman’s Newry

October 22nd, 2020

At the presentation of the Danske Bank MacRory Cup; Ethan Doherty, captain of St Patrick’s Maghera, Oonagh Murtagh, Danske Bank and Sean O’Hare, captain of St Colman’s Newry.

The presentation of the 2019/20 Danske Bank MacRory Cup has taken place with the winning captains from St Patrick’s Maghera and St Colman’s Newry.

The Final had been rescheduled to take place earlier this month, but a decision was taken to cancel this owing to the current public health situation. As a result, the trophy was shared between the two finalists.

Oonagh Murtagh, Danske Bank commented:

“We’re delighted to be able to present the two winners of the MacRory cup with the trophy. This is certainly a year we’ll never forget, but it’s fantastic to finally be able to recognise the fantastic skill and huge achievement from both teams.

“It wouldn’t be possible of course without the dedication of the players’ families, parents, schools, coaches, clubs and of course, the committee of the Ulster Schools GAA – thank you to everyone who has had a part to play throughout the year. We look forward to this year’s activities.”

Ulster Schools GAA Chairman Jimmy Smyth added:

“Our congratulations to both schools on having reached the 2019/20 Danske Bank MacRory Cup Final, and while we share their disappointment at the Final not taking place, this is still a major achievement and a huge accolade for the two schools and all the players involved.

“We are already looking forward to, and planning for, the resumption of Gaelic games in our schools in January.”

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA