Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Gaels recognised at 2022 Ulster GAA Awards

November 30th, 2022

The 2022 O’Neill’s Ulster GAA Awards took place at the Manor House Hotel, Killadeas, Co. Fermanagh, on Friday 25th November.

GAA volunteers from across the Province were recognised by Ulster GAA for their hard work and dedication in the areas of Community and Volunteering, Refereeing and Education.

The awards are a way of highlighting the achievements of some of our special and significant contributors to the Association in Ulster.

Winners on the night included –

O’Neills Ulster GAA Lifetime Service to the GAA Award

  • Peter Carty (Devenish & Fear Manach)

Player of the Year Football

  • Chrissy McKaigue (Doire)

Player of the Year Hurling

  • Damian Casey RIP (Tír Eoghain)

The McGlinchey Cup for Referee of the Year

  • Sean Hurson, Tír Eoghain

Service to the GAA through Education

  • Sinead McCourt (Ard Mhacha)

Translink Young Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Hannah Shiels (Fanad Gaels & Dún na nGall)

Special Recognition Awards

  • Paula Clarke, Handball
  • Eileen Jones, Ladies Football
  • Deirdre Fitzgerald, Camogie
  • Anna Bradley, Rounders
  • Sean Harte, Canada GAA




Special Presentations

  • Liam McCabe – An Cabhán
  • Dominic McCaughey – Tír Eoghain
  • Conor McDonnell – Muineachán

Club Gaeilge na Bliana

  • CLG Laochra Loch Lao, Aontroim

Inclusion, Equality & Diversity Award

  • Con Magees GAC, Aontroim

Healthy Club Award in association with Ulster Independent Clinic

  • Latton O’Rahilly’s, Muineachán

Club Recognition Awards

  • Sarsfield’s Ballerin GAA, Doire
  • Roslea Shamrock’s GAA, Fear Manach


Coaching Award

  • Michael Gerard Doherty, Aontroim
  • Gerard Cunningham, Ard Mhacha
  • Aghadrumsee St. Macartan’s GAC, Fear Manach



Communications Award

  • Tyrone GAA

Community Engagement Award

  • CLG Naomh Micheál, Dún na nGall

Recognition of All Ireland winning teams

  • All-Ireland Club Senior Football Championship – Kilcoo GAC
  • All-Ireland Club Intermediate Football Championship – Steelstown Brian Ógs GAA
  • All-Ireland U20 Football Championship – Tyrone GAA
  • Joe McDonagh Cup – Antrim GAA
  • All-Ireland U20 B Hurling Championship – Down GAA
  • Nickey Rackard Cup – Tyrone GAA
  • All-Ireland Intermediate Hurling Championship – Antrim Camogie
  • Nancy Murray Cup – Tyrone Camogie
  • All-Ireland Ladies Junior Football Championship – Antrim LGFA

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA