Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Ulster Referees Awards 2023

January 15th, 2024

The annual Ulster Referees Dinner took place on Saturday evening in the Corick House Hotel, Clogher Co. Tyrone, where match officials from across the province were recognised for their service and achievements from the 2023 Gaelic Games season. 

Ulster GAA Referees Committee Chairperson Sean Rooney made special reference to those who were involved in All-Ireland and Overseas Finals in 2023, commenting:

“The standard of refereeing in Ulster was extremely high and thank all the referees for their input and availability over the past 12 months. I congratulate the seven graduates from the Referees Academy, and wish them well on their refereeing pathway.”

Ulster GAA Uachtarán Ciaran McLaughlin echoed these comments, adding:

“Ulster GAA have invested heavily in the development of our referees and will continue to do so.  I thank all referees, advisors and committee members for undertaking the various roles during the year.”

The evening was an opportunity on behalf of Ulster GAA to say thank you to all of our referees for their continued support.

The following 2023 Ulster GAA Referee Awards are listed below:

2023 Ulster Senior Football Championship – David Gough (An Mhí)

2023 Ulster Club Senior Football Championship – Paul Faloon (An Dún)

2023 Ulster Club Intermediate Football Championship – Diarmuid Boylan (Muineachán)

2023 Ulster Club Junior Football Championship – Shane Murphy (Ard Mhacha)

2023 Ulster Club Senior Hurling Championship – James Clarke (An Cabhán)

2023 Ulster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship – Colm McDonald (Aontroim)

2023 Ulster Club Junior Hurling Championship – Peter Owens (An Dún)

2023 Ulster Minor Hurling Championship – James Connors (Dún na nGall)

2023 Ulster Minor Football Championship – Mark Loughran (Tír Eoghain)

2023 Ulster Minor Football League – Conor Curran (An Dún)

2023 Ulster U20 Hurling Championship – James Clarke (An Cabhán)

2023 Ulster U20 Football Championship – Pat Clarke (An Cabhán)

2023 Dr McKenna Cup – Conor Dourneen (An Cabhán)

2023 Conor McGurk Cup – Kevin Parke (Aontroim)

2023 Ulster Senior Football Club League – Micheal Moore (An Dún)

2023 Ulster Intermediate Football Club League – Conall Roberts (Aontroim)

2023 Ulster Junior Football Club League –James Lewis (Fear Manach)

2023 Ulster Referees Academy Graduates

Ruan McKinstry (Ard Mhacha), Oisin McKee (Ard Mhacha), Neil McGeown (Ard Mhacha), Thomas Devlin (Doire), Mark Turley (An Dún), Eoin Murphy (Fear Manach)

& Martin Coyle (Tír Eoghain).


2023 ABC Championships (London)         

Barry McMenamin (An Cabhán), Conor Curran (An Dún), Mark Dorrian (Dún na nGall) & Mairtin McGann (Ard Mhacha)


2023 Northern Games (Manchester)          

Mark O’Neill (Aontroim) & James Lewis (Fear Manach)


2023 Canadian Championship Final

Niall McKenna (Muineachán) & Kevin Parke (Aontroim)


2023 Football Referee of the Year (John McGlinchey Medal)

Martin McNally (Muineachán)


2023 Young Referee of the Year (Paul McKeever Medal)

Ruan McKinstry (Ard Mhacha)


2023 Hurling Referee of the Year (Colin Murray Medal)

James Clarke (An Cabhán)


Services to Refereeing Award

Frank McDonald (An Dún)



Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA