Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Gaels recognised at O’Neill’s Ulster GAA Awards for 2023

February 14th, 2024

Gaels from the length and breadth of the province where honoured at last weekend’s 2023 O’Neill’s Ulster GAA Awards which took place at Crumlin Road Gaol.

Over 200 guests were in attendance at the unique Belfast venue for a ceremony hosted by Off The Ball and GAAGO’s Aisling O’Reilly. Upon arrival guests were greeted with music from the St Mary’s Rasharkin Scór group.

The event highlighted the achievements of some of the special and significant contributors to the Association in Ulster across all codes, throughout the areas of community & volunteering, coaching, education and playing.

Winners on the night included –

O’Neills Ulster GAA Lifetime Service to the GAA Award

Fergus McGee (St Eunan’s Letterkenny & Donegal)


Footballer of the Year

Brendan Rogers (Slaughtneil & Derry)


Damian Casey Award – Hurler of the Year

Neil McManus (Ruairí Óg & Antrim)


Service to the GAA through Education

Manus O’Donnell (CLG Beart & Donegal)


Translink Young Volunteer of the Year Award

Oisín Barr (Doire Colmcille & Derry)


Special Recognition Awards

Eilise McCrory & Fiachra Ó Dúill, Handball

Joe Lagan, Ladies Football

Helen McAleavey, Camogie

Carrickmacross Emmets Rounders Club, Rounders

Tyrone Masters Football Team

Seán Óg McAteer, Down GAA




Club Gaeilge na Bliana

Ruairí Óg, Aontroim

Inclusion, Equality & Diversity Award

Cavan GAA

Healthy Club Award in association with Ulster Independent Clinic

Clan na Gael, Armagh

Club Recognition Awards

Killyman St Mary’s, Tyrone

Greencastle St Patrick’s, Tyrone

Clonduff, Down

Children’s Coaching Award

Kevin Curran, Tullysaran & Armagh

Youth Coaching Award

Eoin Clarke, Ballygalget, Down

Adult Coaching Award

Malachy O’Rourke & Ryan Porter – Glen Watty Grahams, Derry

Communications Award

John Campbell

Community Engagement Award

Ederney St Joseph’s, Fermanagh

Recognition of All Ireland winning teams

All-Ireland Club Senior Football Championship – Glen Watty Grahams, Derry

All-Ireland Club Intermediate Football Championship – Cullyhanna St Patrick’s, Armagh

All-Ireland Club Junior Football Championship – Arva, Cavan

All-Ireland Minor Football Championship – Derry GAA

All-Ireland U20 B Hurling Championship – Derry GAA

Lory Meagher Cup – Monaghan GAA

All-Ireland Intermediate Hurling Championship – Derry Camogie

All-Ireland Ladies Junior Football Championship – Down LGFA

All-Ireland Club Junior Hurling Championship – Granemore, Armagh

All-Ireland Scór 2022 Ballad Group – Glasdrumman, Down

All-Ireland Scór 2022 Recitation – Dónal Ó Muireagáin, Carrickcruppen, Armagh

All-Ireland Scór 2022 Instrumental Music – Mullaghbawn, Armagh


Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA