McAviney elected new President

February 18th, 2013

ulster-convention-2013Martin McAviney has been elected as the 35th President of the Ulster Council GAA following the annual convention held at St Michael’s College Ennikillen on Saturday 16th February.

Martin is pictured being presented with the President’s pin by outgoing President Aogan Ó Fearghail, following the Cavan man’s three year officership as President.

In accepting the position of Chairman of the Ulster Council, Martin gave a very emotional speech in which he spoke of his pride and honour to be elected into such a position.

Martin, from the Ballybay Pearse Brothers Club in County Monaghan, will be joined by fellow officers Danny Murhy (An Dún) as Secretary, Michael Hasson (Aontroim) as Vice-Chairman, Oliver Galligan (An Cabhán) as Treasurer and John Connolly (Muineachán) as PRO.