Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

This Week’s League Previews

March 13th, 2008

derryvdown-hurling.jpg– Saturday 15th March 2008 –

Allianz National Football League Division 1
Tír Eoghain v Laois
Omagh @ 7.00pm
Referee: John Bannon (An Longfort)

Tyrone manager Mickey Harte has made a couple of changes to his side as they look to grab a vital win over Laois in Saturday’s National Football League Division One game in Omagh.

Having been beaten last time out by Galway, Harte has decided to reshuffle his back line with Martin Swift missing out altogether. Justin McMahon comes in in Swift’s place and will start at full back as Conor Gormley moves to his preferred position just in front of McMahon.

The defensive chopping and changing also sees Dermot Carlin switch to left corner back.

Harte has also switched goalkeepers with John Devine replacing Johnny Curran. The midfield and attack remains the same.

Tyrone: J Devine; PJ Quinn, J McMahon, D Carlin; D Harte, C Gormley, R McMenamin; K Hughes, E McGinley; R Mellon, R Mulgrew, S Cavanagh; T McGuigan, C McCullagh, O Mulligan.

Allianz National Football League Division 1
Dún na nGall v Gaillimh
Ballybofey @ 7.00pm
Referee: Aiden McAlynn (Doire)

Donegal boss Brian McIver has recalled Rory Kavanagh and Michael Hegarty to the side for their Allianz NFL Divison 1 clash with table toppers Galway at Ballybofey on Saturday.

Kavanagh, back from suspension, comes into the side in midfield alongside Neil Gallagher. Martin McElhinney is the man to make way as Kevin Rafferty moves to the half forward line.

The only other change form the side that was edged out at the death by Kildare two weeks ago sees Hegarty replace Christy Toye.

Donegal: P Durcan; K Lacey, N McGee, N McCready; F McGlynn, E McGee, K Cassidy; N Gallagher, R Kavanagh, K Rafferty, M Hegarty, B Roper; C McFadden, R Bradley, D Walsh.

Galway: A Faherty; K Fitzgerald, F Hanley, D Burke; G Sice, N Coyne, D Mullahy; P Geraghty, N Coleman; E Hoare, P Joyce, D Meehan; M Clancy, M Meehan, F Breathnach.

Allianz National Football League Division 1
Doire v Cill Dara
Celtic Park @ 7.00pm
Referee: Eugene Murtagh (An Longfort)

Allianz National Football League Division 2
Baile Átha Cliath v Muineachán
Parnell Park @ 7.00pm
Referee: Syl Doyle (Loch Garman)

Monaghan manager Seamus McEnaney has opted for an unchanged side for Saturday evening’s National Football League Division Two meeting with Dublin.

With The Farney men heading into a top-of-the-table clash with Paul Caffrey’s side, boss McEnaney has kept faith with the XV who edged Armagh last time out.

Dermot McArdle continues at left corner back in the continued absence of Colm Flanagan, while Conor McManus, who is set to captain the county’s U21 side when they face Donegal in Monday’s championship opener, starts at number 10.

The full forward trio of Rory Woods, Raymond Ronaghan and Tommy Freeman all start again, despite each being replaced during the win over The Orchard County.

Monaghan: P McBennett; D Mone, JP Mone, D McArdle; D Freeman, G McQuaid, P McGuigan; D Clerkin, E Lennon; C McManus, V Corey, P Finlay; R Woods, R Ronaghan, T Freeman.

Dublin: S Cluxton; D Henry, R McConnell, D Murray; P Casey, B Cahill, C Moran; E Fennell, S Ryan; B Cullen, A Brogan, M Vaughan; J Sherlock, C Keaney, B Brogan.

Allianz National Football League Division 2
An Mhí v An Cabhán
Páirc Tailteann @ 7.00pm
Referee: Jimmy McKee (Ard Mhacha)

Meath: B Murphy, N McKeigue, D Fay, C Mac Gill, E Harrington, K Reilly, C King, N Crawford, M Ward, P Byrne, A Moyles, A Nestor, S Bray, G Geraghty, C Ward

Allianz National Football League Division 3
An Dún v Longfort
Páirc Esler @ 7.00pm
Referee: Pat McEnaney (Muineachán)

Down: Brendan McVeigh, Ciarán McGovern, Gary McArdle, Martin Cole, Ronan Murtagh, Liam Doyle, Declan Rooney, Dan Gordon (Captain), Ambrose Rodgers, John Fegan, Kevin McKernan, Danny Hughes, John Clarke, Cathal Magee, Ronan Sexton

Allianz National Football League Division 4
Aontroim v Ceatharlach
Casement Park @ 7.00pm
Referee: Jimmy White (Dún na nGall)

– Sunday 16th March 2008 –

Allianz National Hurling League Division 1A
Aontroim v Corcaigh
Casement Park @ 2.30pm
Referee: Anthony Stapleton (Laois)

Cork: M Coleman; S O’Neil, D Sullivan, S Murphy; E Cadogan, J Gardiner, C McGann; T Kenny, K Hartnett; K Murphy, B Vorry, T McCarthy; L Desmond, K Canty, P Cronin.

Allianz National Hurling League Division 2B
Ceatharlach v Ard Mhacha
Dr. Cullen Pk @ 2.30pm
Referee: Fergus Smith (An Mhí)

Allianz National Hurling League Division 2B
Doire v An Dún
Banagher @ 2.30pm
Referee: John Devlin (Tír Eoghain)

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3
An Lú v Tír Eoghain
Dundalk @ 2.30pm
Referee: David O’Donovan (BÁC)

Allianz National Hurling League Division 3
Dún na nGall v Longfort
Letterkenny @ 2.30pm
Referee: Tiernach Mahon (Fear Mahon)

Donegal: G Grindle; M McGrath, J Boyle, J McGee; J Donnelly A Wallace, P Hannigan; D Cullen, E McDermott; S Boyle, M McCann, K Campbell; S McVeigh, G Dwyer, N Campbell.

Allianz National Hurling League Division 4
An Dún Theas v Fear Manach
Ballela @ 2.30pm
Referee: Owen Elliot (Aontroim)

Allianz National Hurling League Division 4
Muineachán v Liatroim
Clones @ 2.30pm
Referee: Eamonn Hassen (Doire)

Allianz National Football League Division 2
Ard Mhacha v Ros Comáin
Crossmaglen @ 2.30pm
Referee: Patrick Fox (An Iar-Mhí)

Roscommon boss John Maughan has made just one change to his side for Sunday’s crucial National Football League Division Two encounter with Armagh at Crossmaglen.

With neither side firing on all cylinders, Sunday’s game will play a crucial role in the final make-up of the league table and after losing to Cork last time out, Maughan has altered his side, albeit not in a revolutionary manner.

The only change sees David Keenan called in to start at left half back. Keenan’s inclusion sees Seanie McDermott moving to left corner back with Adrian Murtagh the man to drop out of the XV that started the Kiltoom defeat to Conor Counihan’s Rebels.

Roscommon: G Coffey; P O’Connor, A McDermott, S McDermott; D O’Gara, E Kenny, D Keenan; K Mannion, M O’Carroll; G Cox, F Dolan, C Gregg; S Heneghan, J Dunning, S Kilbride.

Allianz National Football League Division 3
Fear Manach v An Lú
Lisnaskea @ 2.30pm
Referee: Tomas Quigley (BÁC)

Fermanagh: C Breen, S Goan, S Lyons, N Bogue, D Kelly, R McCluskey, R Johnston, M Murphy, An other, C McElroy, M Keenan, M Little, P Cadden, An other, R Keenan

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA