Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Tyrone win Inaugral Meagher Cup

July 13th, 2009

ring-2009.jpgChristy Ring Cup Final:
Down 0-14 Carlow 1-15

Carlow claimed their second successive Christy Ring Cup title after a four-point win over Down at Croke Park on Saturday.

The Barrowsiders did not wrap up the win until Robert Foley stole in for a vital 69th minute goal and Craig Doyle added a late point. Indeed, Foley was the champions’ hero, chipping in with 1-3 of their total.

The teams were level at 0-7 apiece at the break, and there was little to choose between them until Foley’s late intervention.

The reward for Carlow is a place in the All Ireland Championship in 2010, while Down can be proud of their efforts after a brilliant campaign.

rackard-2009.jpgNicky Rackard Cup Final:
Meath 2-18 London 1-15

Meath claimed their first-ever Nicky Rackard Cup success with a six-point win over London at Croke Park.

The Royals had a healthy seven-point lead at the break – 2-10 to 0-9 – with Nicky Horan and Michael Cole grabbing the goals. For the Exiles, Martin Finn scored 0-6 as he showed his usual accuracy from placed balls.

London added a goal after the break from Henry Vaughan, but Meath were too strong and prevailed with a little to spare in the end.

meagher-2009.jpgLory Meagher Cup Final:
Tyrone 5-11 Donegal 3-16

Tyrone staged a brilliant comeback to beat Donegal in the inaugural Lory Meagher Cup final at Croke Park on Saturday.

Full-forward Rory O’Neill bagged two goals for the winners, the first of which gave the Red Hand an early lead.

However, it was Donegal who led 1-9 to 1-6 at the break after Lee Henderson’s 22nd minute goal.

Peadar McMahon, Shea McKiver and Justin Kelly added further Tyrone goals in the second half before O’Neill struck for his second of the game late on to seal the win.

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA