Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Monaghan claim second successive Electric Ireland Ulster Minor title

July 14th, 2019

Monaghan were crowned Electric Ireland Ulster Minor Football Champions for a second consecutive season as they overcame Tyrone 1-13 to 1-11.

There was little between the sides over the course of the 60 minutes but a goal midway through the second half from Michael Hamill proved crucial.

There was little to choose between the sides in the opening 30 minutes. Luke Donnelly was first on target for Tyrone and he was assisted by Mark Devlin as Tyrone built up a 0-5 to 0-2 lead.

Monaghan came racing back and scored five in a row to lead by two with Darragh Dempsey, Jason Irwin and Diarmuid Marron among the point scorers. Tyrone’s Mark Devlin and Luke Donnelly brought the sides level before Dempsey gave Monaghan a lead at the break.

Michael McGleenan hit the net scoring from the throw-in  and Sean O’Donnell pointed to give Tyrone a three point lead. Man of the match Karl Gallagher and Jason Irwin pointed for Monaghan before Michael Hamill scored the crucial goal.

Try as Tyrone back they couldn’t get back on terms and Monaghan claimed the Fr Murray Cup.


Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA