Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Tyrone are crowned EirGrid Ulster Under 20 champions

July 14th, 2019

Tyrone were crowned EirGrid Ulster Under 20 champions for 2019 as they produced a commanding performance against Derry to win 4-13 to 1-10 at the Athletic Grounds.

Things didn’t look good for the Red Hands early on as they trailed 0-4 to 0-1 and then 1-4 to 0-3 midway through the opening half but an excellent performance in the ten minutes either side of half time saw them take control of the game.

Mark McGrogan and Paul Cassidy had given Derry that early lead but Conall Grimes, Sean ÓgMcAleer and Tiarnan Quinn kept Tyrone in touch before Tiarnan McHugh hit the net.

Darragh Canavan came into his own and began pulling the strings for Tyrone as they grew into the game. Canavan pointed twice and set up a score for Tiarnan Quinn.

James Garrity then goaled for Tyrone from the penalty spot before Sean Óg McAleer struck again to send Tyrone into the break 2-9 to 1-5 ahead at the interval.

Things got better for Tyrone after the restart as Joe Oguz found the net almost straight from the throw in. Shortly after Conor Quinn found the Derry net to give Tyrone what was an unassailable lead.

Ben McCarron and Mark McGrogan tagged on points for Derry but Lorcan Quinn and Michael Conroy kept the Red Hands well in control as they claimed victory.

Ulster GAA President Oliver Galligan presented Tyrone captain Ruairi Gormley with the Danny Murphy Cup

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA