Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

2019 Ulster GAA Young Leaders Graduation

December 9th, 2019

36 young people have successfully graduated from the 2019 Ulster GAA Young Leaders Programme and have been awarded with a file of certificates for their work over the last five months.

The young people from GAA clubs across Ulster, undertook an intensive skills development programme in July and August this year, whereby they developed their knowledge and skills across a range of issues affecting the GAA and sport in general.

At the Academy, the young people completed the:

  • GAA Foundation Coaching Course
  • GAA Safeguarding Award
  • Heartstart
  • Sport Science
  • Event Management
  • Sport Communication
  • Volunteer Development
  • GAA for All
  • Nutrition and Lifestyle for Athletes.

As part of this programme, the young people also participated in volunteering in their GAA club, which enabled them to put into practice some of what they learned at the Academy. Completing 50 hours volunteers they received GoldMark Awards and many received sectional certificates for the Joint Award Initiative in either Gaisce the President’s Award or the Duke of Edinburgh.

The Young Leaders continue to work towards bronze level of these awards and are expected to achieve this by Easter 2020 following an expedition organised by Ulster GAA.

Ulster GAA President Oliver Galligan officially recognised the 2019 Young Leaders at their awards presentation at the Silverbirch in Omagh recently.

Speaking at the presentation he said: “We are extremely proud of the Young Gaels who participated and completed this programme from clubs right across Ulster.

“It’s fantastic to see so many young people committed to developing themselves and giving back to their clubs in the process. Our Young Leaders Programme has become very popular putting the spotlight on the impact young volunteers can make to the GAA. I warmly congratulate all those who completed this programme in 2019.”

Ulster GAA 2019 Young Leaders

Abaigéal Quinn – Eire Óg, Armagh
Aine McCann – St Brigid’s GAC Belfast, Antrim
Aine Doyle – Tullysaran, Armagh
Áine Maguire – St Brenda’s Camogie Club Ballymacnab, Armagh
Amy McGrath – St Mary’s Aghagallon, Antrim
Annajane Galvin – Coalisland Na Fianna GFC, Tyrone
Aoibheann Lenagh – St Patrick’s Cullyhanna, Armagh
Aoife McNabb – Sean O’Leary’s Newbridge GAC, Derry
Caelan McEvoy – Kilcoo GAC, Down
Caoimhin Heaney – Michael Davitt GAC, Antrim
Caolan McCann – Sean Treacy’s Lurgan, Armagh
Cassie Hoy – Donaghmore St Patrick’s, Tyrone
Chloe McConville – Aghaderg GAC, Down
Ciara Loughran – O’Donovan Rossa, Antrim
Ciaran Daly – Trillick St Macartan’s , Tyrone
Conn Livingstone – St Peter’s Lurgan, Armagh
Danagh McCrory – Éire Óg, Armagh
Eamon Óg Blaney – Bredagh GAC, Down
Eimear O’Kane – Naomh Mhuire An Port Mor/Armagh Harps GFC, Armagh
Eimear Traynor – Donaghmoyne/Culloville, Monaghan/Armagh
Ella McManus – Newtownbutler First Fermanagh’s, Fermanagh
Emily Martin – Burren St Mary’s, Down
Enda McCaffrey – Omagh St Enda’s, Tyrone
Fionnbharr Taggart – Omagh St Enda’s, Tyrone
Grainne Boylan – Killeavy GAC, Armagh
Grainne McCann – Killyclogher St Mary’s, Tyrone
Jonathan Owens – Beragh Red Knights, Tyrone
Maeve Callaghan – St Patrick’s Camogie Club Keady, Armagh
Matt Smyth – St Brigids, Antrim
Niamh Scullion – St Bronagh’s Rostrevor, Down
Nicole Nugent – Newbridge Camogie/St Trea’s Ballymaguigan, Derry
Odhran Mullan – Ardoyne Kickhams, Antrim
Orlaith Lennon – St Enda’s Camogie, Armagh
Ronan McHugh – Derrygonnelly Harps, Fermanagh
Sinéad O’Hare – Bosco Newry, Down
Tiarna Lavery – Éire Óg, Antrim

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA