Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Derry duo awarded in PwC Football All-Stars for 2022

October 27th, 2022


Derry’s Chrissy McKaigue and Conor Glass are the Ulster recipients of 2022 PwC All-Stars for football.

McKaigue is included in the defence and becomes Slaughtneil’s first ever All-Star winner in their history, with this year’s star-studded final 15 containing a notable 11 first-time winners.

Glen Watty Graham’s clubman Glass is selected at midfield for his star performances during Derry’s run to the Ulster title and All-Ireland Semi-Finals.

All-Ireland and Allianz League champions Kerry dominate the team with seven selections, while there are five slots for Connacht champions and beaten All-Ireland finalists Galway, and one for Leinster champions Dublin.

Derry’s Ethan Doherty earns a nod among the PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year nominees, alongside Dublin’s Lee Gannon and Galway’s Jack Glynn.

Kerry star David Clifford and Galway pair Shane Walsh and Cillian McDaid are shortlisted for PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year.

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Larry McCarthy said: “Congratulations to all of the footballers who have been selected on the PwC All-Stars. The awardees hold a prestigious place in GAA history and in any given year stand out as the foremost performers that we were fortunate to have for our enjoyment on GAA fields.

“The 2022 season was certainly one that will live long in the memory, and I want to acknowledge all of those who played a part in making it so memorable; not alone players, but coaches, match officials and the county committees and volunteers without whom we cannot exist.

“Our thanks to PwC for their continued support of the great GAA All-Star tradition. After first being part of a high calibre football shortlist, I know the families and clubs of the players selected on the final 15 will share in the honour and excitement. Comhghairdeas libh go léir.”

Tom Parsons, CEO of the GPA, added: “On behalf of your fellow players I want to take this opportunity to congratulate each and every one of you on being selected as a PwC All-Star in 2022. These awards are the ultimate individual honour a player can achieve in Gaelic games, and you should be proud to be recognised in this way.

“To the first-time winners, you now join a very special club and when you look at the names that are part of that club, you’ll understand just what an achievement it is. Thank you to all 15 of you for your effort, skill and performances throughout the year. And a word of thanks too, to the GAA and our long-term sponsor PwC for partnering with players to celebrate the best of the best.”

Dating back to 1971, the All-Stars are selected by a team of GAA journalists from across print, radio, digital, and broadcast media, chaired by Uachtarán CLG.

The PwC All-Stars will be presented at a black-tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre tomorrow, Friday, October 28 and shown live on RTÉ TV. The hurling team will be announced live on the night and the programme will also confirm the PwC GAA/GPA Footballer and Hurler of the Year awards as well as the Young Player of the Year Awards on the programme.

PwC All-Stars Football 2022 (Ulster players in bold)


  1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore, Kerry)


  1. Chrissy McKaigue (Slaughtneil, Derry)
  2. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue, Kerry)
  3. Liam Silke (Corofin, Galway)
  4. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe, Kerry)
  5. John Daly (Mountbellew Moylough, Galway)
  6. Gavin White (Dr.Crokes, Kerry)


  1. Conor Glass (Glen, Derry)
  2. Cillian McDaid (Monivea-Abbey, Galway)


  1. Paudie Clifford (Fossa, Kerry)
  2. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare Shamrocks, Kerry)
  3. Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock, Dublin)
  4. David Clifford (Fossa, Kerry)
  5. Damien Comer (Annaghdown, Galway)
  6. Shane Walsh (Kilmacud Crokes, Galway)

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year nominees

David Clifford (Kerry)

Cillian McDaid (Galway)

Shane Walsh (Galway)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year nominees

Lee Gannon (Dublin)

Ethan Doherty (Derry)

Jack Glynn (Galway)

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA