Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Achievements of Ulster Referees recognised at annual dinner

January 18th, 2023

Ulster GAA Football Referee of the Year, Sean Hurson of Tyrone, accepts the John McGlinchey Cup from Ulster GAA Vice-President Michael Geoghegan.

The 2022 Ulster Referees Annual Dinner took place recently at the Hillgrove Hotel, Monaghan, an evening that recognised all our referees for their time, commitment and involvement in the delivery of our games programme.

The adage, “without referees, there are simply no games,” was reiterated by the MC for the evening, Ulster GAA Treasurer Declan Woods, as he opened proceedings

In December 2021, we were rocked by the tragic passing of Down and Ulster hurling referee Colin Murray after a short illness. Colin was a well-renowned referee throughout the GAA and he always approached games in a positive manner.  We were delighted to introduce the Ulster GAA Hurling Referee of the Year Award donated by the Murray family, which was introduced on the night in memory of Colin.  Colin’s wife Donna and daughter Niamh were in attendance on the night to present the cup to Ulster GAA.  This is a great tribute to a great individual and fittingly, the first recipient was a close friend, Colum Cunning.

Ulster GAA Hurling Referee of the Year, Colum Cunning from Antrim, accepts the Colin Murray Cup from Ulster GAA Vice-President Michael Geoghegan, and Colin’s wife, Donna Murray.

Ulster Referees Chairman, Sean Rooney made special reference to those who were involved in National and Overseas Finals in 2022.  He commented that the standard of our refereeing this year was extremely good, referenced that three of the four Provincial Football Finals were done by Ulster referees, and thanked all the referees for their input and availability over the past 12 months.

Ulster GAA Vice Chairperson Michael Geoghegan echoed these comments.  He added that Ulster GAA have invested heavily in the development of our referees.  Radio equipment, health checks and regular advice illustrates this point. He thanked all referees, advisors and committee personnel for undertaking the various roles during the year.  The Awards Night is an opportunity on behalf of Ulster GAA to say thank you to all of our referees for their continued support.

Ulster GAA Young Referee of the Year, Shane Murphy from Armagh, accepts the Paul McKeever Cup from Ulster GAA Vice President, Michael Geoghegan.

The following referees received awards:

Ulster Senior Football Championship – Sean Hurson (Tír Eoghain)

Club Senior Football Championship – Joe McQuillan (An Cabhán)

Club Intermediate Football Championship – Sean Laverty (Aontroim)

Club Junior Football Championship – Mark Dorrian (Dún na nGall)

Club Senior Hurling Championship – Peter Owens (An Dún)

Club Intermediate Hurling Championship – Kevin Parke (Aontroim)

Club Junior Hurling Championship – Tarlach Conway (Doire)

Ulster Minor Football Championship – Pat Clarke (An Cabhán)

Ulster Minor Football League – Diarmaid Boylan (Muineachán)

U20 Football Championship – Enda McFeely (Dún na nGall)

Dr McKenna Cup – Padraig Hughes (Ard Mhacha)

Conor McGurk Cup – Ciaran McCloskey (Aontroim)

Ulster Senior Football Club League – Conall Roberts (Aontroim)

Ulster Intermediate Football Club League – Enda Mallon (Ard Mhacha)

Ulster Junior Football Club League – Conor Curran (An Dún)

ABC Championships (London) – Shane Murphy (Ard Mhacha), Richie Donoghue (Doire), Christopher Brady (Muineachán) & Ciaran McCloskey (Aontroim)

Scottish Football Final – Kevin Faloon (Ard Mhacha)

Canadian Championship Finals – Alan Nash (Doire) & Sean Laverty (Aontroim)

Football Referee of the Year (John McGlinchey Cup) – Sean Hurson (Tír Eoghain)

Hurling Referee of the Year (Colin Murray Cup) – Colum Cunning (Aontroim)

Young Referee of the Year (Paul McKeever Cup) – Shane Murphy (Ard Mhacha)

Services to Refereeing – Paul Doris (Tír Eoghain)






Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA