Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Seventeen Ulster nominations for 2023 GAA PwC Football All-Stars

September 29th, 2023


Seventeen players from Ulster have received football nominations in the GAA PwC All-Star Awards for 2023, which were announced today.

After retaining their Ulster SFC title before advancing to the All-Ireland semi-final, Derry have been rewarded with seven nominations; Gareth McKinless, Conor McCluskey, Eoin McEvoy, Conor Glass, Brendan Rogers, Paul Cassidy and Shane McGuigan.

Slaughtneil dual star Rogers is also shortlisted for the PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year award, while his Derry teammates McAvoy and Ethan Doherty both earn nominations for the Young Footballer of the Year prize.

There are four nominations for All Ireland semi-finalists Monaghan; Rory Beggan, Conor McCarthy, Karl O’Connell, and Conor McManus. Elsewhere, Tyrone duo Padraig Hampsey and Darragh Canavan the 45-player list, as do Armagh pair Aidan Forker and Andy Murnin, and Donegal’s Brendan McCole and Oisín Gallen.

The high-profile list of 45 names is notable for being spread across 13 counties – the largest representative breakdown since 2008.

First held in 1971, the PwC All-Stars represents the highest individual accolade in Gaelic Games. The nominations and the final 15 teams are chosen by a panel of Gaelic Games Correspondents from across, print, radio, tv and digital media, in a meeting chaired by Uachtarán CLG.

The PwC All-Star teams will be presented with their awards at a gala black-tie event which will be staged in Dublin’s RDS and shown live on RTÉ tv on Friday, November 17. The football winners and the overall Players of the Year will be announced live on the night.


The full list of PwC All-Stars Football nominations 2023 are below:


PwC Football All-Star Nominations


Goalkeepers (3)

Rory Beggan (Monaghan)

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)

Shane Ryan (Kerry)


Defenders (18)

Jason Foley (Kerry)

Tadhg Morley (Kerry)

Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)

Gavin White (Kerry)

Michael Fitzsimons (Dublin)

Lee Gannon (Dublin)

Brian Howard (Dublin)

Gareth McKinless (Derry)

Conor McCluskey (Derry)

Eoin McEvoy (Derry)

Conor McCarthy (Monaghan)

Karl O’Connell (Monaghan)

Seán Kelly (Galway)

Aidan Forker (Armagh)

Brian Stack (Roscommon)

Padraig Hampsey (Tyrone)

Rory Maguire (Cork)

Brendan McCole (Donegal)

Midfielders (6)

Brian Fenton (Dublin)

James McCarthy (Dublin)

Conor Glass (Derry)

Brendan Rogers (Derry)

Diarmuid O’Connor (Kerry)

Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)

Forwards (18)

Colm Basquel (Dublin)

Cormac Costello (Dublin)

Paul Mannion (Dublin)

Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

David Clifford (Kerry)

Paudie Clifford (Kerry)

Seán O’Shea (Kerry)

Paul Cassidy (Derry)

Shane McGuigan (Derry)

Oisín Gallen (Donegal)

Conor McManus (Monaghan)

Enda Smith (Roscommon)

Darragh Canavan (Tyrone)

Rónán O’Toole (Westmeath)

Andrew Murnin (Armagh)

Jordan Flynn ((Mayo)

Ben McCormack (Kildare)

Damien Comer (Galway)


PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year Nominees

David Clifford (Kerry), Brian Fenton (Dublin), Brendan Rogers (Derry)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year Nominees

Ethan Doherty (Derry), Eoin McEvoy (Derry), Conor Carroll (Roscommon)


Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA