Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Weekend’s Club Championship round-up in Ulster

September 11th, 2023


The Northern Switchgear Antrim SFC is down to the last four after the weekend’s quarter-finals. Dunloy will now play Roger Casements Portglenone and Cargin will play Naomh Bríd for a place in the county final. Dunloy’s progress to the semi-finals is a talking point as they’re better known as a hurling power, but they’re now building on football success in recent year in the minor and U-21 grade.

Their 2-18 to 3-12 extra-time quarter-final win over Lámh Dhearg was a dramatic one. The teams were still level at half-time in extra-time, but Dunloy scored the last three points of the game to claim victory. St. Brigid’s finished strongly to beat O’Donovan Rossa by 0-13 to 0-10 in their quarter-final tie, an Aidan McAleese goal proved crucial for Casements in their 1-12 to 0-12 win over Creggan, while Tom Shivers hit an injury-time winner for defending champions Cargin in their 0-9 to 0-8 win over Aghagallon.


After the preliminary quarter-final matches over the weekend, the draw has now been made for the quarter-finals proper of the Armagh SFC. Defending champions Crossmaglen will play Armagh Harps, Killeavy will play Clann na Gael, Madden will play Ballymacnab, and Clann Eireann will play Silverbridge. The best match of the preliminary quarter-final round was Silverbridge’s 3-9 to 1-13 win over Granemore. The Harps looked set for a comfortable win when they led by 10 points at half-time thanks in no small part to two goals from Tiarnan Murphy and one from Gavin Burns. But Granemore came roaring back in the second half as a Pete Carr goal helped reduce the deficit to three points with 10 minutes to play. In the end, some dogged defending from Silverbridge was enough to see them cling on.



The final eight teams in the Kiernan Service Station Cavan SFC are now known, but the quarter-final line-up is yet to be decided because the Castlerahan v Crosserlough match was postponed.

Before a ball had been kicked in the final round of group matches, Crosserlough, Gowna, Killygarry, and Kingscourt Stars were already guaranteed a place in the last eight. After the weekend’s five matches, Ramor United, Laragh United, Cavan Gaels, and Ballinagh have joined them. The only change to the top eight was Ballinagh pipping Lacken for eight place thanks to their 0-16 to 0-10 win over Lavey and Cavan Gaels’ 1-18 to 2-11 win over Lacken.


Kevin Lynch’s are through to a fifth successive Derry SHC Final thanks to their 1-18 to 4-7 win over Banagher which saw them top Group B. They were made sweat by the concession of two late goals, but managed to hold on against a Banagher side that will regret some poor shooting. Their two-point win combined with Eoghan Rua’s 3-13 to 0-20 win over Lavey was enough to see Kevin Lynch’s through to the Final where they will once again play Slaughtneil who finished their Group A campaign with a comfortable 2-26 win over Swatragh. Slaughtneil are one win away from an incredible 11th title in a row.



After the final ground of group fixtures, defending champions Naomh Conaill, Aodh Ruadh Ballyshannon, St. Eunan’s, and Kilcar are through to the quarter-finals of the Michael Murphy Sports Donegal SFC. They finished in the top four positions in the table with the next eight teams now contesting the preliminary quarter-finals. Glenswilly play Glenfin, Gweedore will play Dungloe, MacCumhaills will play Four Masters, and Cloughaneely will play Ardara for a place in the last eight. The four teams in the relegation play-offs are St. Naul’s, St Michael’s, Milford, and Killybegs.



Mayobridge, Downpatrick, and Ballyholland are through to the quarter-finals of the Morgan Fuels Down GAA SFC after Round 3 wins over the weekend. Mayobridge defeated Warrenpoint by 1-11 to 0-10 in a game that never really caught fire, with the crucial goal coming from captain Shane McNamee. Ballyholland’s convincing 3-8 to 0-6 win over Longstone gives them a lot of momentum going into the quarter-finals with the goals coming from Billy Campbell, Jack Murtagh, and Seamus Loughran. Downpatrick held off a late surge from Castlewellan to run out 1-13 to 3-4 victors in their Round 3 match. The last spot in the final eight will be filled by the winners of tonight’s match between Loughinisland and Carryduff.



Enniskillen Gaels started the defence of their Fermanagh SFC title with a hard-fought 2-10 to 0-12 victory over Ederney. Two goals in a five-minute burst midway through the first-half gave the champions early momentum, but Ederney battle back to draw level at half-time on a scoreline of 2-3 to 0-9. The Gaels showed a much sharper cutting edge in the second-half to eventually run out four-point victors. Meanwhile, last year’s beaten county finalists, Erne Gaels, enjoyed an impressive 3-13 to 0-9 win over Belnaleck, and Derrygonnelly Harps defeated Roslea Shamrocks by 2-17 to 2-11.  At McManus Park, Kinawley and Devenish played out a 2-9 to 1-12 draw. A fine point from Fionan O’Brien with the outside of the boot gave the Garrison men a one point lead at the break, and they led in the closing stages but Danny McGovern grabbed the equaliser for the home side.


In a very tight Group 1 of the Monaghan SFC, both Latton O’Rahillys and Corduff extended their unbeaten runs to three matches. Corduff drew with Aughnamullen by 0-14 to 2-8, while Latton O’Rahillys defeated Truagh Gaels by 0-18 to 1-7. That means Latton sit pretty on the top of the Group with six points from three matches, Aughnamullen are second with five points from four matches, and Corduff are third with four points from three matches. Reigning champions Ballybay Pearses are out of the running with just one point from three matches while Truagh are pointless after three matches.

In Group 2, Inniskeen made it four wins from four with an impressive 1-13 to 1-10 win over Clontibret O’Neill’s that sees them take an unassailable lead at the top of the table with a game to spare. Scotstown’s 2-14 to 0-11 win over Donaghmoyne means both they and Clontibret have four points from three games while Donaghmoyne and Magheracloone are pointless.


The Tyrone SFC begins on Thursday, September 21 when reigning champions Errigal Ciaran start their defence of the O’Neill Cup against Killyclogher. The Tyrone SFC is one of the few remaining senior club championships in the country, and promises to be ferociously competitive this year as it usually is. The Round 1 draw in full is as follows:

  • Errigal Ciaran v Killyclogher
  • Loughmacrory v Trillick
  • Moortown v Donaghmore
  • Omagh v Ardboe
  • Greencastle v Coalisland
  • Edendork v Carrickmore
  • Eglish v Dungannon
  • Galbally v Dromore



Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA