Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year Award shortlist announced

February 23rd, 2024

Nine outstanding volunteer coaches have been chosen as finalists in the Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year Award.

Members of the public are now being encouraged to support the finalists and vote to decide who the overall winner should be.

Representing their respective counties, the finalists were selected following public nominations submitted by club members across Ulster. A panel of experts including Down GAA football manager Conor Laverty, Derry All-Ireland winner and Ulster GAA coach, Tony Scullion, and Irish News sportswriter, Neil Loughran, whittled the entries down to the final nine.

As well as the title ‘Coach of the Year’, the person who tops the poll will receive free coach travel for their team, courtesy of Translink, and specially commissioned Coach of the Year O’Neill’s sportswear.

The finalists are:

  • Antrim – Orla le Mahieu, Ardoyne Kickhams
  • Armagh – Micky Grimley, Madden Rapparees
  • Cavan – Padraig Dolan, Belturbet Rory O’Moores
  • Derry – Gavin McShane, St.Marys Slaughtmanus
  • Donegal – Greg Doherty & Odie McBride, Four Masters
  • Down – Kevin McClorey, Mayobridge
  • Fermanagh – Fergal Quinn, Enniskillen Gaels
  • Monaghan – Colm Birdy, Carrickmacross Emmets Rounders
  • Tyrone – Jarleth Loughran, Kildress Wolfe Tones

Encouraging people across the province to get behind the finalists, Translink’s Dermot McGirr commented:

“The quality of entries has been outstanding and really shines a light on the excellent work, commitment and dedication local volunteer coaches give to their clubs each season. This reflects Translink’s commitment to connecting the communities we service throughout the year and we’re proud to be able to support this initiative. All the finalists are worthy winners and I’ve no doubt they will be widely supported as the public votes are captured.”

Michael Geoghegan, Ulster GAA Vice-President, added:

“Once again there has been a fantastic response to our Translink Coach of The Year Award. Our volunteer coaches are essential to the development of players from underage through to adult level, and we are thrilled to recognise the efforts of the shortlisted coaches from the nine counties. We wish each of them the best of luck in the upcoming public voting process.”

Commenting on the shortlist, Conor Laverty remarked:

“The great efforts and commitment of all of the county finalists were hugely impressive. I am delighted to play my part in the Coach of the Year campaign and would urge all clubs and counties to show their support online for the coach they believe is most deserving of this award.”

Voting for the Translink Ulster GAA Coach of the Year is now open at

Voting closes at 11.59pm Friday 8th March.

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA