Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Uladh

Aogán Ó Fearghail elected as Uachtaráin-Tofa

February 23rd, 2014


Aogán Ó Fearghail has been elected as Uachtaráin-Tofa Chumann Lúthchleas Gael, meaning he will succeed Liam Ó Néill as President of the Association after Congress 2015, in one year’s time. He will be the 38th President of the GAA.

At the election on Friday night, held at Croke Park as part of the 2014 GAA Congress, he defeated Seán Walsh (Kerry) and Sheamus Howlin (Wexford). He will begin his tenure as Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael in a year’s time, and will serve under the title of Uachtaráin-Tofa until then.

Out of a total vote of 310, Ó Fearghail received 170 votes. Howlin came second with 83, while Walsh was third with 57.

Aogán Ó Fearghail has made history by becoming the first man from Cavan to be elected to the office of GAA President. He is the first man to be elected to the role from the province of Ulster since Monaghan native Seán McCague, who served from 2000-2003.

Ó Fearghail is a native of Maudabawn, a rural area close to the town of Cootehill in Co. Cavan. His club is Drumgoon Éire Óg, the first ever winners of the All-Ireland Junior Club Football Championship. He is the Principal of Dernakesh National School, of which he himself is a former pupil.

He founded the juvenile section at Drumgoon and trained U12 teams at the club for over 25 years. He served as Club Secretary throughout the 1980s, and was heavily involved in the development and establishment of the club’s playing facilities at Boyle Park.

He served on the Cavan County Board for 12 years in various roles, including Irish Officer, Development Officer, Secretary for the Cavan Centenary Year Committee (1984) and as the county’s representative to the Ulster Council.

He has been a member of the Ulster Council for 25 years (1989-2014), serving in all officer roles. He was PRO from 2001-2004, Treasurer from 2004-2007, Vice Chairman from 2007-2010 and President from 2010-2013.

At national level, he has served on the PR and Presentations Committee, the Competitions Control Committee (CCC), Coiste na Gaeilge, and the Strategy Implementation Committee. He was Chairman of the Information Technology Committee and served on the GAA’s Management Committee (Coiste Bainistí) from 2010-2013.

He is married to Frances and they have four children. His parents Aidan and Katie both live in Maudabawn and they will soon celebrate their 68th wedding anniversary.

Aogán is pictured being congratulated by Ulster GAA President Martin McAviney.

Sign up now to get the latest from Ulster GAA