Tackling Bullying

tackling-bullying-poster

The GAA Tackling Bullying Programme is a resource developed in response to a growing awareness of the Impact of bullying on young people in society and in particular, in sport. The GAA became the country’s first sporting organisation to launch a national anti-bullying campaign with the unveiling of the GAA Tackling Bullying Programme in March 2013, and there are many clubs throughout the Association who have now benefited greatly from this initiative.

Our Games – Our Code, the Joint Code of Best Practice in Youth Sport for the GAA includes the GAA Anti- Bullying Policy Statement, which aims to adopt a whole organisational approach to addressing bullying. We are committed to implementing structures and relevant training to deal with allegations of bullying and Incidents of bullying which are regarded as serious breaches of the Code of Behaviour and shall be dealt with accordingly.

The programme consists of a two-hour training workshop suitable for Coaches, Parents, Players and other Club personnel and also includes a range of publicity materials for Clubs. This course is a fantastic resource available to all clubs, and during the Two hour workshop, participants will be equipped with tools that will enable them to identify, prevent and resolve incidents of Bullying that may occur in their clubs, including those that may occur online. This is an issue that causes many problems within our clubs and communities, and we encourage all units within the Association to be proactive in tackling bullying. This two-hour programme may be run in tandem and complimentary to any other educational and or community anti-bullying initiatives and is suitable for delivery at both adult and under age levels.

Through the adoption of a whole organisational approach to tackling incidents of Bullying within the GAA, it is hoped that we can create a culture wherein it is ‘ok to tell’ when bullying is taking place, and wherein issues that are reported are dealt with accordingly.

Ulster GAA is encouraging all clubs with youth members to formally adopt the GAA Anti-Bullying policy at the Club Executive, and make use of GAA Tackling Bullying posters and resources to promote anti-bullying messages amongst their participants, and avail of our GAA Tackling Bullying Workshop.

For more information or to organise a workshop in your area or club, please contact bernie.fox.ulster@gaa.ie Tackling Bullying Posters are also available to download from our website: www.ulster.gaa.ie.
Please find a list below of GAA Tackling Bullying Tutors, and their contact details;

County Tackling Bullying Tutor Email Contact Number
Antrim Tommy Lismore thomas.lismore@homecall.co.uk
07548901339
Antrim Padraic McKenna padraicmaccionnaith@htmail.co.uk
07731111875
Armagh Aileen Matthews aileen.matthews.gpo.armagh@gaa.ie
07795650126
Armagh Martin Kelly mkelly.armagh@gmail.com
07753515721
Ulster Camogie Kathleen Woods kathleen.woods@nwp-recycle.com 07713652911
Derry Ashleen Mc Caul ashleen.mccaul.gda.derry@gaa.ie
07812850372
Donegal James Keaney james.keaney@icloud.com
086 3062093
Down Seamus Ennis james.ennis@hmrc.gsi.gov.uk
079 9341455
Down Paddy Hardy phardy528@aughlisnafinps.castlewellan.ni.sch.uk
07845993906
Monaghan Noel Duffy secretary.drumhowan.monaghan@gaa.ie
086 1931933
Tyrone Kathryn Anderson childrensofficer.tyrone@gaa.ie
07909006255
Tyrone Adrian Nugent adrian.nugent@selb.org
07717732011
Ulster Kathy Kelly kathy.kelly.ulster@gaa.ie
02837521900
Ulster Bernie Fox bernie.fox.ulster@gaa.ie
02837521900
Ulster Shaun Doherty sweandoc14@hotmail.com 087 7711195

 

 



Have a question about any of our programmes?

Contact us

Contact us today to find out more about how our programmes can be applied within your club.

Lairdesign - Graphic Design, Corporate Identity, Web Design and Development The GAA Store UTV MCS Group
Ulster Senior Football Championship - Derry v Tyrone